Welcome My First Guest Blogger, Becke Martin Davis!

My novella Until Emie releases today and to help me launch my debut into the publishing world, I asked my dear friend and critique partner, Becke Martin Davis to come and post a blog.

*She knows I’m freaking out and can’t manage one myself*  

Not only is she incredibly talented, gorgeous, and giving, but she likes my writing! If it weren’t for this woman, I wouldn’t have had the courage to submit my little story anywhere.  This book is dedicated to her even though it’s not printed on the inside cover (oversight on my part) I wanted everyone to know. Love you, Becke!

“A Cut Above: Until Emie is Released Today!”

By Becke Martin Davis

“I’m picking up my bags now. I should be home in about an hour depending on traffic. Did you send a car?”

She barely registered his reply when a strong hand covered hers over the handle of her luggage. She glanced down and a charge of hot awareness shot through her. The thick scar winding its way from the index finger to streak a path under the palm belonged to only one man.

Shit, no! I’m not ready. Emie looked into the hard steel grey of the eyes she had never seemed to escape. Panic threatened her reason.

“You look disappointed to see me, Emie. I’m hurt.” Without asking, Cut took the phone from her. “I’ve got her, Richard.” He ended the call with four words.

***

It was early in 2008 when I attended my first meeting of the Ohio Valley RWA chapter, and I was a little nervous. A newbie to fiction, I had printed up the completed drafts of my first two stories, eager to compare notes with other writers.

Like a newbie, I sat in a back corner so I could observe without drawing any attention. I wasn’t alone. Sitting next to me was a dark-haired, dark-eyed woman who also had a printout in front of her. We eyed each other eagerly, but a little wary, too. She had a great smile and, like so many of my friends, was a whole lot shorter than me. I felt like the Jolly Green Giant, but her friendly smile instantly won me over. We exchanged introductions – Becke, Rosie – briefly and in whispers, since someone was talking at the front of the room.

“Did you bring a story?” I asked, nodding at her pages.

“Yes,” she whispered back. “Did you?”

We passed our manuscripts over, trying to be subtle about it. I think her eyebrows raised a bit at the number of pages in mine.

I didn’t want to be rude to the speaker, but I was eager to sneak a peek at the story. Although I had been a garden writer for many years, I was brand, spanking new to fiction and had no idea if I was on the right track. I was desperate for a critique partner, and hoped I might have found one.

I slipped on my reading glasses and opened the story to page one. I liked the title: UNTIL EMIE. I started to read. “The arrival gate at Houston Intercontinental was unusually quiet. For once, Emie and the stream of weary travelers made it through without the persistent paparazzi mowing them down.” I was intrigued.

I gave Rosie an encouraging nod and read on. My face began to heat. The hero was named “Cut,” which for some reason I thought was freaking hot. He had a sexy scar, and with about a dozen words I knew he was going to be Alpha with a capital A. I think I may have started to pant at that point. I know damn well I was blushing.

“Holy shit!” I whispered, as my eyes bugged out of my head. “This is really good, but, uh, I can’t read it in public.” Rosie reached to take it back and she had to tug a bit before I would let go. “Wait – I really want to read it!”

“You like it – really?”

“Yes!” I guess my expression convinced her (I may have been drooling a little.)

Her smile was so bright it practically singed me. “I’ll email it to you.”

We’ve been critique partners ever since, but I got the better deal. Her story was almost ready to go, while I was still “learning by writing.” Rosie must have waded through a million words of mine, for which she deserves a medal (or a night with Gerard Butler, and I know which she would prefer).

I was thrilled when Rosie aka Gabriella sold UNTIL EMIE to Red Sage, but I wasn’t surprised. I knew from the first page that she was going to sell this story. It seems as if it’s taken forever, but it’s really only been a matter of months. September 1, 2010, UNTIL EMIE by Gabriella Edwards goes on sale. It’s definitely a cut above!

I’m not a betting person, but I guarantee this is only the first of many stories by this hot new author, and I do mean hot! I hope you enjoy the story as much as I did. But, take my word for it, you’re going to want some privacy – or most of you will. If you’re into an audience? Just wait until you read her next story!

Becke Davis, writing as Becke Martin

http://www.beckemartin.com

67 thoughts on “Welcome My First Guest Blogger, Becke Martin Davis!

  1. […] I blogged about it here: https://gabriellaedwards.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/welcome-my-first-guest-blogger-becke-martin-davis/ […]

  2. It’s time to PAR-TAY!!! Bring on the cabana boys!

  3. You are a gem and I can’t imagine doing this without you! Thank you so much for all the support and time you’ve given me, Becke. I really wouldn’t have done it without you!

  4. *sob* Now you’re making me cry!

  5. LOL – I’ll be back in the morning. I was up all night writing my alien vampire bunny contest entry last night – I need sleep!

  6. Monica Burns says:

    *In my best Robin Williams voice*

    Paaarrrrtaayyy!! Who’s dat author over daere! Why it’s Gabriella Edwards over daere! Come on DOWWnnn Ms. Edwards and talk to your fans.

    *In my best Monica voice* Lovely post, Becke, To think you’ve only known Gabby just a year longer than me. I’m jealous. *pout*

  7. Belle Sloane says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! Can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.
    All the best with your new release!

    Belle
    @}–{———-

  8. Okay a virtual party is nice, but I want the real thing. When do we get to hold your hunk in our hands?

    Plus, “alien vampire bunny contest” C’mon, you got to explain that one.

  9. Didn’t know the details of how you guys met. Emie and Cut with a scar. Your story will be a smash hit. Love you both. M.

  10. Tes Hilaire says:

    Oh YEAH! That’s an Alpha! I’m so excited to grab up Until Emie! Congrats Gabby and great blog post Becke. I can see that first meeting totally. Woo Hoo to my Ohio girls!

  11. keristevens says:

    I’d talk to y’all, but I’ve got this new book to read–UNTIL EMIE. Heard of it?

  12. Stephanie says:

    So, does today feel different? Does the air back up in your lungs when you think about your book being available now?

    Well, I can’t wait to go pick up mine so I’m gonna head on over and take care of that now. Congratulations!!

  13. Mary – it’s a real contest: http://greyhausagency.com/Alien-Vampire-Bunny-Contest.html

    IT’S SEPTEMBER 1ST!!!!!!!! UNTIL EMIE IS AVAILABLE TODAY!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Woohoo! Partay! (loved the Robin William’s impression :P) I can’t wait to read Until Emie! It sounds hawt!

    And Becke, great post! I’ve been considering joining the RWA chapter here in Dallas but have been putting it off until the beginning of next year. Now I’m excited to join. 🙂

    • Hi Linda! I’m so happy you stopped by. Becke’s brilliant and we’re going to need shades when we read her soon to be published work. Mark my words!

      And I hope you enjoy the read. Nice, short easy breezy… 😉

      Oh, and you will love being with other writers. It’s the best thing in the world!

    • Linda – it’s totally worth the expense of joining RWA National and your local chapter. Rosie and I went to RWA National in 2009 – that was VERY expensive but also worth every penny.

      The local chapter is a bargain, and the friends I’ve made there are priceless!

  15. tonya kappes says:

    Hey girls!! *wave*
    I got my copy ready to read!! I bought it this morning from red sage. Of course this real job, real world is killing me and I’ll have to wait until tonight to read it!!! BUT super excited and happy for you!

  16. LOL! Monica RWA 2009 was a very good year. Loved the experience. And I’m not surprised at all you’d mention our cosmic connection. I’m so looking forward to 2011 in NY! I may not want to leave.

    Becke, I love the “critiquing triumvirate” I’m gonna use it and YES! We need to have a major party to herald Keri Stevens’s debut release in December, Tonya’s next year right, Tonya? And Renee Vincents’s releases, and Keri Ford’s, and…WOW! My buds are busy! Wait we might not have time to party. NAH…let’s make time!

  17. Keri Ford says:

    Yay! Congrats Beautiful!!!!! So proud of you.

    *waves magic wand* You shall much success!

  18. Stephanie says:

    @Linda – I’ll add my additional seconds and thirds about joining RWA. It is great. Lots of wonderful people and resources. Besides you meet great people like Becke and G at conferences.

    @Becke – I hear tequila goes well with everything:)

    @G – excellent!! I hope the virtual party helped today. I will say that your book definitely helped me through my day of listening to incessant whining, getting unending snacks, changing poopy diapers, and trying to figure out how to clean crayon off my sofa. Yep, the lives of writers are so exciting:) but at least my life as a reader was super yummy today and I have you to thank for that.

  19. KAK says:

    YAY! Release Day! Significant Others everywhere are thanking you for the bonus benefits of “Until Emie.”

  20. Diane Eby says:

    OMG I knew her when. Gabriella you rock. I enjoy your writing and friendship. Congrats. Celebrate Good Times…

  21. Ok Finally I made it!!! So sorry I’m late gals!
    First off, I just want to say CONGRATULATIONS my dearest BFF!!! This day has finally come! I am so happy for you…so much in fact that I tweeted several times about it today with links to buy and all that jazz.

    Anyway, back on track here….

    Secondly, I want to let Becke know that her blog post was outstanding! That story was a story all by itself! I loved it…truthfully, I didn’t want it to end. Very nice tribute to your friend Becke and we all know she deserves it!

    I love you both!

    Hope you have many many sales!!!

  22. MJ says:

    *cue Violent Femmes* Strut your stuff, Gabby! (Without any of the other attributes of the lyrics.) Congrats on this Very Special start to September.

  23. Christina Wolfer says:

    As always, late to the party, but was glad to see Renee didn’t beat me by much. Love the post, Becke. What a tribute.

    And Rosie, what can I say that hasn’t already been said. You are priceless. Congrats, love and hugs on your big day!!!

    Looking forward to seeing you all at the next meeting and wishing a few others, Mon and WP, lived close enough to be there.

  24. KC Klein says:

    Wow the little bit I got to read on this blog sounds great. I love stories of how crit partners come together and I know personally the bond is stronger than sisters sometimes. Thanks for the invite via Tes Hilaire on facebook. I hope for many more books to come!

    • KC, thanks for visiting! I’m so grateful for that day. I tell Becke all the time (I’m thinking she believes I’m a loon) how happy I am to have found her that day.

      I think we make people sick, LOL!

  25. MJ says:

    (Blog appears to have eaten my earlier comment)
    Congrats, Rosie! Cherry Tarts rule. Enjoy every minute of this milestone day!

    • No, just me not getting to it fast enough to approve posts. I’ve not figured all this out yet. Some posts go right through while others must be approved.

      WHATEVAH! And yes, let’s give it up to the Tarts! Whoot, Whoot!

  26. Wow! This has been so much fun! I’m now so ready to fall in my bed, but the partay’s still open and I’ll make sure I check in tomorrow as well. Thank you all so much for sharing my day. It’s one I’ll remember for a long time!

    Cheers!

  27. anyadavis says:

    You really know how to throw a party! If you all are wondering where the cabana boys and cowboys are, Renee has some over at her place, and if you scroll down you can find some of Rosie’s and my picks here: http://www.beckemartin.com/bm/index.php?page_id=29

  28. Monica Burns says:

    Just finished reading Until Emie. WHOA! Talk about a steamy read. It was hawt, hawt, hawt! Congratulations again my Italian BFF!!! Hugs on your super duper achievement.

  29. I’m late. Is there any cake left??

    Becke, what a lovely, serendipitous beginning to a great friendship and partnership. I loved hearing the story.

    And Gabriella – fans self – I’m awaiting a Kindle. Once it arrives and I figure out how to download your novella, I’m going to enjoy. I love me some alpha men. Congrats! I know a lot of people feel overwhelmed on release day, but I hope you can enjoy yours.

Leave a Reply

